Màrius Rubiralta, named Spain's new State Secretary for Universities

Màrius Rubiralta
Màrius Rubiralta
  • <p>Màrius Rubiralta</p>
  • <p>IRB Barcelona's Group "Peptidomimetic and heterocycles" (Biosyner), leaded by Màrius Rubiralta.</p>

The IRB Barcelona principal investigator has been appointed to the post by the new Minister of Science and Innovation, Cristina Garmendia.

The Spanish Government's newly created Ministry of Science and Innovation has been divided into two State Departments: the Department for Universities to be led by Màrius Rubiralta, and the Department for Research, to be led by Spanish Research Council (CSIC) president, Carlos Martínez Alonso. The new administration will be responsible for universities, scientific research, technology development and innovation in all sectors. It will also coordinate state-run public research entities. The Department for Universities will consist of two general directorates: Universities and Research Programmes, and Knowlege Transfer.

Màrius Rubiralta i Alcañiz (Manresa, 1952) leads a research group within the Institute for Research in Biomedicine's Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology Programme. He holds a doctorate in Chemistry and is Professor in Organic Chemistry at the University of Barcelona's Faculty of Pharmacy. His research focuses on the organic synthesis of pharmaceutical compounds, he has published more than 100 scientific articles in international journals and has overseen the completion of 15 doctoral theses. Throughout his career, Màrius Rubiralta has served as Director of the University of Barcelona's Departament of Pharmacology and Therapeutic Chemistry as well as Vice-President of its Division of Health Sciences, Vice-Rector of Research, Director of the Barcelona Science Park and Rector of the University of Barcelona. He is a member of the Royal Catalan Academy of Pharmacy, and in 2003 received the "Medalla Narcís Monturiol." He is currently also President of the Strategy Committee of the Metropolitan Strategic Plan of Barcelona and First Vice-President of the Conference of Rectors of Spanish Universities (CRUE).