Boards & Committees

IRB Barcelona has put in place structures to ensure that the Institute delivers on the full promise of its potential.


The IRB Barcelona Board of Trustees, or Patronat, is the governing body of the Institute and is responsible for overseeing research activities, approving the operating funds and ensuring that the annual goals are met. The Board is composed of nine members and is chaired by the Minister of Business and Knowledge of the Government of Catalonia.



Alba Vergés i Bosch
Minister of Health
Government of Catalonia


Ramón Tremosa
Minister of Enterprise and Knowledge


Joan Guàrdia
University of Barcelona


Joan Gómez Pallarès
Director General of Research
Government of Catalonia

Jordi Garcia Fernández
Vicerector of Research
University of Barcelona

José Navarro Cid
Delegate for the promotion of research
University of Barcelona

Rafael Pardo
Director of Fundación BBVA

Juan Modolell
Centro de Biología Molecular - CSIC

Jerzy Duszynski
Nencki Institute of Experimental Biology
Warsaw, Poland

The scientific work of IRB Barcelona is regularly assessed by an External Advisory Board which comprises 15 leading international researchers in biomedicine. Its main task is to provide guidance in shaping our research and related activities.


Dr. Joan Massagué, chair
Sloan Kettering Institute
New York - USA

Dr. Dario Alessi
University of Dundee
Dundee - UK

Prof. Dr. Annette G. Beck-Sickinger
Institute of Biochemistry
Leipzig - Germany

Dr. Michael Czech
University of Massachusetts
Worcester, MA - USA

Dr. John Dick
Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, University of Toronto
Toronto - Canada

Dr. Anne Ephrussi
European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)
Heidelberg - Germany

Dr. Jesús Jiménez-Barbero
Derio - Spain

Dr. Johanna Joyce
Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research & University of Lausanne
Lausanne - Switzerland

Dr. Carlos López-Otín
Universidad de Oviedo
Oviedo - Spain

Dr. Thomas Muir
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ - USA

Dr. Angela Nieto
Institute of Neurosciences of Alicante, Miguel Hernández University of Elche
Alicante - Spain

Dr. Luis F. Parada
Sloan Kettering Institute
New York - USA

Dr. Dinshaw J. Patel
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
New York - USA

Derek Tan

Dr. Derek Tan
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
New York - USA

Dr. Alfonso Valencia
Barcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC)
Barcelona - Spain

Maria C. Freire
NIH Foundation

Begoña Carreño-Gómez
Head Search & Evaluation Primary Care. Global BD&L
Novartis Pharma AG

Remi Droller
Managing Partner
KLS Partners

Javier Garcia
General Partner
Columbus Venture Partners

Joël Jean-Mairet
Managing Partner and co-Founder
Ysios Capital

Eva Méndez
Drug Discovery Advisor

Carlos Plata
Chief Scientific Officer

The PhD Advisory Committee is the body responsible for shaping PhD training and mentoring activities and identifying and implementing future goals. The committee is comprised of Group Leaders from each Research Programme and the Chair of Graduate Training. Two students from the Student Council, the Academic Officer and the Section Head of the Academic and International Scientific Affairs Office (who also acts as secretary) also participate in the PhD Advisory Committee meetings.


Roger Gomis

The aim of the Committee for Research Integrity (CRI) is to actively share learning and good practice in scientific integrity among the IRB Barcelona scientific community, to catalyse the development of educational initiatives and to act as an independent support and resource in cases of scientific misconduct. The CRI is formed by the Director, the Managing Director, the Head of an Administration Department, the Head of Legal Services, and four representatives from the Group Leaders and Facility Managers.

To contact the CRI, please email


Bibiana Cervelló

IRB Barcelona understands the importance of creating an environment in which diversity, equality and inclusion are valued and promoted. The achievement of an equality and diversity balance among IRB Barcelona personnel would contribute to excellence in research and also to the welfare of all those involved.

The IRB Barcelona Gender Equality plan serves as an instrument in achieving real equality, by incorporating equal opportunities in all the scopes of the Institute. The current GEP was published in 2017 providing a proper framework for Gender Equality Actions. The plan is structured in 8 fundamental topics to achieve strategic involvement, these topics are the following:

  • Workforce distribution
  • Non-Discriminatory Languages
  • Training
  • Recruitment-Promotion-Development
  • Remuneration
  • Work-life Balance
  • Sexual Harassment
  • Working Conditions

The current plan will be renewed in the year 2021, following the guidelines of EU-CALIPER PROJECT, which intends to support the transformation of research and academic institutions to more gender-equal entities, by increasing the number of women researchers in STEM (science, technology, engineering and math), thereby enhancing their career perspectives and adding a gender dimension to research. CALIPER aims to design a universal methodology that supports gender equality on a permanent base and prevents gender discrimination in scientific institutions.

To download the current GEP please click here.
For more information regards the CALIPER project visit:
Any other information please contact

The EDC’s main mission is to develop a strategy through which promote and monitor equality and diversity issues and to provide support and guidance in the implementation of policies and action plans related to the same. In compliance with IRB Barcelona’s Equality and Diversity Plan 2017-19, the EDC is committed to promoting these values at IRB Barcelona. The committee is formed by members representing IRB Barcelona’s scientific community and Administration Department.

To contact the EDC, please email


Neus Prats (Chair)

Guiomar Solanas (Secretary)